The Institute of Agricultural Research for Development (IRAD), governed by Decree No. 2019/075 of 18 February 2019 on the reorganisation of IRAD, is a public establishment of a scientific and technical nature with a legal personality and financial autonomy. It is placed under the technical supervision of the Ministry of Scientific Research and Innovation and the financial supervision of the Ministry of Finance.
IRAD is administered by two bodies: a Board of Directors and a General Management.

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the body that defines and directs the general policy of the Institute and evaluates its management within the limits set by its missions in accordance with the regulations in force.
It comprises twelve (12) members and is headed by a President.
For the execution of its missions, the Chairman of the Board of Directors has at his disposal an Executive and an Assistant Director.

The General Management

The General Management of IRAD is placed under the authority of a Director General, assisted by a Deputy Director General, both appointed by decree of the President of the Republic.
For the execution of his missions, the Director General of IRAD has :
- a Cabinet ;
- Services attached to the General Management;
- a Central Administration;
- Operational Structures.

I. The Cabinet of the Director General

It comprises; the Secretariat of the Director General; the Secretariat of the Deputy Director General; the Guidance Office and the Visas and Missions Office.

 II. Services attached to the Directorate General

They are made up of :
- the Internal Audit, Quality and Management Control Division
- the Genetic Resources Conservation Unit
- the Legal Affairs and Litigation Unit
- the Communication, Documentation and Archives Unit
- the Transit and Marketing Agency
- the Accounting Department
- the Mail Service

 III. The Central Administration

It comprises three (03) departments, namely:

A. The Directorate of Scientific Research
Placed under the authority of a Director, the Directorate of Scientific Research is responsible for
- coordinating the development of research activities, projects and programmes
- coordinating activities related to the evaluation of research activities and the performance of researchers
- monitoring all research activities, projects and programmes
- coordinating the development of activities in workshops, laboratories, production units and the valorisation of research results
- promoting the production and dissemination of research results and products
- accompanying and supporting projects for the creation of innovative and viable companies through an incubation process.

It comprises :
- the Policy and Programming Division (DPP)
- the Plant Production Division (DPV)
- the Animal and Fisheries Production Division (DPAH)
- Biodiversity, Forestry and Environment Division (DBEF)
- Laboratories, Accreditation and Certification Unit (CLAC)
- Cooperation Unit (CC)

B. The Directorate of Administrative and Financial Affairs
The Directorate of Administrative and Financial Affairs is responsible for the preparation, execution, monitoring and control of the execution of the budget; the preparation of summary financial statements; the preparation of tender documents and the monitoring of the execution of public contracts in accordance with the procedures in force; the keeping of files, statistics and the conservation of documents relating to public contracts; the monitoring of the process of maturing projects; the monitoring of the execution of works and services; the management and maintenance of the Institute's movable and immovable property.

C. Human Resources Department
Human Resources Department is responsible for the implementation of human resources management policies, pay management and staff training. Its mission is to implement tools, systems and methods for recruiting, retaining, developing, strengthening and promoting skills, as well as processing pay.

III. Operational Structures

They are made up of :
- Five (05) Agricultural Research Centres (ARC) representing the five agro-ecological zones of Cameroon. These are: Maroua Agricultural Research Centre (Zone 1), Wakwa Agricultural Research Centre (Zone 2), Bambui Agricultural Research Centre (Zone 3), Ekona Agricultural Research Centre (Zone 4) and Mbalmayo Agricultural Research Centre (Zone 5);
- Six (06) Multipurpose Agricultural Research Stations (SPRA): Garoua, Bangangté, Dschang, Njombé, Bertoua and Minko (Dja Reserve).
- Two (02) Specialised Research Stations: Garoua, Bangangté, Dschang, Njombé, Bertoua and Minko.

Publish modules to the "offcanvas" position.